My once a year find….

I’ve been waiting for today for a whole year. Its the one day of the year that I can visit a fair where I know there is a great stash of vintage buttons. These beauties are from a shop that would have closed down in the 1940s, and I found the most beautiful assortment of colours and designs. These are made from an early plastic called casein (which is the protein in milk). Mixed with a few chemicals it makes a great plastic, and though it has since been replaced by more modern polymers, it is still made in countries that produce a lot of milk, eg New Zealand. Anyway, enough of the chemistry, check these out!

I love the shape of this one!

I love the shape of this one!

These are magnificent! They’re reverse carved and painted lucite in immaculate condition!

 I literally bought hundreds of buttons today – all on old shop cards. It was so much fun!

Published in: on August 24, 2008 at 5:16 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/08/24/my-once-a-year-find/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I never knew that they used to make buttons out of casein! That’s really interesting! Plus, you certainly found some nifty buttons. Can’t wait to see what you do with them!
    Julie
    http://juliedarcy.blogspot.com

  2. OMG! I can’t imagine coming upon such a treasure. They would have to take me out in a stretcher! LOL! I love buttons!

  3. Wow! A girl after my own heart! I have been collecting for the past 22 years! I use some of them in my work now but most are too hard to part with 🙂

  4. What a find! Those carved carded ones are divine.
    I look forward to stopping by again to see more of your treasures.

  5. I have never set eyes on a single one of these type of buttons let alone full cards of them… How Divine !!! Marian said we would enjoy our visit to you… What an Understatement !!! Need I say I Will Be Back ?!?!


Leave a Reply

