My next challenge – mastering the history of metal buttons

 As I’ve said before, I really love the history that vintage buttons exude. Up until now, I’ve been swotting up on the early plastics of the 20th century. But I love old metal buttons, and I guess my next challenge will be to try and learn a lot more about them; how to recognise different metals, what kind of clothes they adorned…..

Here are some that I’ve collected over the years…

 

 

Concave hammered brass with cut steels. Cut steel moons – each of these buttons is about 1 cm long and is composed of about 30 riveted cut steels.

  

Another beautiful cut steel button on a brass? base You can see where the 7 steels have been riveted at the back of the button.

   

Metal with a pearly centre. White metal cupid.

 

Two different metals make up this lovely oriental scene. Blue tinted brass button.

  

Victorian picture button.   “Twinkle” buttons – these have a filigree top over a mirrored base which reflects the light and makes them twinkle – unusual hexagonal shape.

 

My one and only Paris-back button!

Cheers til next time!!

Published in: on September 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/09/04/my-next-challenge-mastering-the-history-of-metal-buttons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have a fondness for old buttons. I have some that were my grandmothers. Some I have were purchased at an antique store and I have them in a glass jar. You have some really nice metal buttons.

  2. I like the one with the Oriental scene. And I love how you displayed them all on rice. Very creative!

  3. OMG just how addictive could this get !?!? Adore these metal buttons…

  4. Thanks everyone, it IS addictive – but I love it!


Leave a Reply

