Some of my favourite black glass buttons…

Black glass has been used to make buttons since Queen Victoria went into mourning for Prince Albert. Some of my favourite “modern” black glass buttons have designs highlighted with silver, gold or copper lustre. These buttons are post World War II.

 

This design reminds me of comets.

   

Oh, disco ball!!

 

Love this coppery lustre

  

                                                              I think this is my favourite

  

Faux cut steels

I think that their intricate design is beautifully offset by the single colour decoration – all-in-all some very elegant buttons.

Published in: on September 10, 2008 at 8:02 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/09/10/some-of-my-favourite-black-glass-buttons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ooooh, I love the last one! it would make a great focal for a necklace, bracelet or pin.

  2. My fav is the one next to the disco ball! Wouldn’t it make great wall art if enlarged?

  3. […] over to the blind test.  The paisley fractal pattern antique black glass button image is from Bower Bird, fascinating for those of us who like vintage buttons. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe […]


Leave a Reply

