Blue Monday #1

 Thanks to Sally for hosting Blue Monday!

I’d like to share with you something that I think is better than fairies at the bottom of the garden – bowerbirds at the bottom of my garden (well just over the fence)! I live in the Blue Mountains of NSW, Australia, and our local bowerbird is called the satin bowerbird. Males are deep iridescent blue with lavender eyes. Females are olive with lavender eyes. Young males are apparently the same colour as females – they get their new plumage when they become mature. I was lucky enough to see one in the transition phase once.

They build a bower on the ground out of small twigs, and decorate it with blue objects. If you own blue plastic pegs, chances are they won’t last long in the peg basket. They also like pale gold, such as straw or pale yellow flowers. The bower is for courtship, not nesting.

 

This one built a bower under a big stand of feral lantana in the bush behind my place. The bower is built with the opening facing north / south, and usually in dappled shade where the sun can dance on the leaves.

Here’s some of his collection. Bowerbirds make the most wonderful sounds – whirring and clicking noises like a rickety old sewing machine. For the past 25 years I have had a bowerbirds bower on or near my property. It was a lovely treat to show my kids when they were growing up.

Addendum: D’oh! I named my blog and my website after these birds, as they surround themselves with things they’ve collected – and so do I!!

Happy Monday everyone!

Published in: on September 29, 2008 at 1:00 am  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/blue-monday-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey there! I like your blog-I just found you through Pink Saturday and I see you are doing Blue Monday also! I like both your posts and I love pink and green too! See you soon in blogland.

  2. Well this is most interesting. Imagine all of the blue object around the nest. How Sweet. I absolutely LOVED this post. I really enjoyed your blog.

  3. Hello from the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria!

    I used to go to the Blue Mountains regularly when I lived in Camden for many years! Leura, Katoomba, the Hydro, Victoria Falls and Wentworth Falls were my favourite places!

    Loved this post on the bower bird! I still haven’t seen one! Only its nest!

  4. This is the most amazing thing…thanks so much for sharing this information with us. And, welcome to Blue Monday.
    love, bj

  5. I’ve never heard of the blue satin bower birds; how gorgeous they are! Thank you for educating me. Happy Blue Monday!

  6. How Cool! I love that you make the blue clips available to them!

  7. I love your post. I also had an opportunity to peruse your blog. It’s very nice. I love the buttons.
    Sweetie

  8. Oooh, I am so excited to learn of these special birds. How nice of the man bird to build such an attractive spot to court his lady bird. Thanks for telling us all about it. Take care.

  9. How fun that they are attracted to blue items for their little love nests. 🙂

  10. I have never heard of these birds before. How interesting they collect and are attracted to things that are blue! Thanks for sharing and this is a perfect post for Blue Monday!
    Love, Ann from Southern California

  11. Thanks for sharing this story about your native bird..

  12. I really like your Blue Monday. Thank you and happy blues !!

  13. That is amazing! I had never heard of that. I wish you would take a picture of the bird and post it one day. Thank you so much for sharing.

  14. Who knew that birds would have color preferences? Not I, that I can assure you. What a fascinating factoid…

  15. These birds are amazing and the blue items are so blue. Interesting post. I love learning new things. Thanks for the most interesting post.

    Hugs, Jeanne

  16. That is the most interesting thing I have ever heard of. Very nice blog you have.


Leave a Reply

