Ruby Tuesday #1

I work in science at a university – my ‘day job’. I’ve been experimenting with some techniques that allow me to take pictures of crystals down a microscope. I’d like to share a couple of these with you for my first Ruby Tuesday post (thanks to Work of the Poet for this great Tuesday theme!).

 

Both these images are of a dye called safranin. The liquid dye was evaporated, leaving these amazing crystal patterns. This one deposited crystals in a fractal formation.

I love this – it reminds me of a red night sky.

Published in: on September 30, 2008 at 11:24 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/09/30/ruby-tuesday-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very interesting photos. Reminds me of my chemistry lessons…

  2. These are so awesome! I love pictures from a scope!

  3. I don’t begin to understand the science, but the art is easy to comprehend. That first shot is especially astonishing!

  4. I just gave you an award for your awesome blog!

    http://ulixis.blogspot.com

  5. welcome to RT!!

    you are so creative. I love your photos

  6. I love this blog. I looked at every single button and other photo. I learned things, the photos are gorgeous, the buttons truly fabulous, and I even had some nostalgia going for items I have seen in the distant past. I ought to send you some of my older buttons, or at least photos of them. Your collection far, far outstrips my meager few, though. Thank you so much for sharing.


Leave a Reply

