Blogtoberfest – a button a day #1

I discovered Blogtoberfest over at Big Cat’s Emporium, and couldn’t resist the challenge.  The idea is to post to your blog every day in October. So I figured that I could do a ‘button a day’ post from my collection, with (hopefully) a bit of interesting or weird or funny or even educational info to boot.

So here we go:

 Here’s some fun bakelite buttons from the 1930s. They’re called realistics, or figurals or goofies depending on your preference. They were made in all sorts of fun designs like the cute wishbone and horseshoe. But my favourites are this fabulous set of bakelite screws, each one a different colour. I guess after the hard years of the Great Depression, a bit of light-hearted humour was a good thing!

 

 

  

Published in: on October 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/blogtoberfest-a-button-a-day-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve joined blogtoberfest too and found myself on your site. I enjoyed looking at the lovely things on your blog I love buttons and will come and visit again.

  2. Love your site. A blog dedicated to buttons! Fabbo. Perhaps I’m off to a whole other universe. The button flowers are a real treat. Haven’t seen anything like that before. Cheers. Loani (found you at Blogtoberfest 🙂

  3. What a great way to approach it. I can’t wait to see all your buttons. Happy Blogtoberfest. I’m so glad to discover your lovely blog.

  4. WOW what an ambitious undertaking…good for you, Liz!! It’ll be fun seeing your button collection and drool lol!! Love these quirky bakelite ones…what FUN 🙂 xx


Leave a Reply

