Blogtoberfest Day 8: We’ve been published!!

Donna from Australian Country Collections Magazine has written an article on collecting buttons which features many of our lovely vintage buttons. It’s a 4 page article with plenty of pics:

 

 The buttons in the cabinet aren’t ours, but all the rest are!

 

 

Nov / Dec issue (at your newsagent now! LOL!!)

Next year she’s also doing an article on collectable belt buckles (of which we have many!) and it will feature all sorts of lovely vintage treasures in bakelite, celluloid, glass, cut steel and more. Stay tuned!!

I was over at Bellgirls Blog (she’s the self-appointed Blogtoberfest groupie) and she’s been entertaining us with some very funny German phrases. So I thought I’d add my 2 deutschmarks worth (or is that Euros?). My mum is Austrian and my dad Russian, so I’ve noticed over the years that the German language can have some very long words. There is some debate about which word is actually the longest, but these are at the top of the list:

Rindfleischetikettierungsüberwachungsaufgabenüber-

tragungsgesetz which has something to do with Mad Cow disease,

Donau­dampfschiffahrts­elektrizitäten­haupt­betriebs­werkbau­unterbeamten­gesellschaft which is actually an Austrian word.

You can Google them to find out the meanings!

Polka on over to Big Cat’s Emporium for your daily dose of

Published in: on October 8, 2008 at 5:23 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/10/08/blogtoberfest-day-9-weve-been-published/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] bowerbirdz wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI was over at Bellgirls Blog (she’s the self-appointed Blogtoberfest groupie) and she’s been entertaining us with some very bfunny/b German bphrases/b. So I thought I’d add my 2 deutschmarks worth (or is that Euros?). b…/b […]

  2. Congrats on being published…

    Keep up the good work playing with buttons.

    Going to check out those words as well…

    Julie-Ann

  3. CONGRATS on the magazine. That’s really cool.

  4. Those buttons are magnificent– this is the first time I’ve visited your blog (found you through Blogtoberfest) and I’m floored. Congratulations on being published!

    I have been loving Bellgirls’ “inappropriate” German phrases each day. I can’t believe there is a 63-letter word for something involving mad cow disease.

  5. Fantastic. I really like the way you photograph your buttons on rice. I’m almost ready to sit down and sort my button collection now after looking at your lovely buttons.

  6. Congratulations on the magazine..I love all the buttons..my collection is not nearly so good as yours, but I love collecting them.

  7. Congratulations, Liz!! I love that mag and I’ll be buying a copy of this issue, for sure! We have yet another thing in common…German heritage (my dad) how interesting is that!! xx


Leave a Reply

