Vintage Thingies Thursday AND Blogtoberfest day 9!

In celebration of     I’ve committed to blog about buttons every day during

October. So what better, on this  than to show you some more of my favourite vintage button delights.

Clockwise from top left (click image to enlarge):

Antique button moulds made from bone, and bone rings for making crocheted buttons.

Some vintage sewing bits and bobs – love those vintage stork scissors!

Half a card of handpainted white glass buttons, the card is speckled with age

Grey shell boot buttons

Brown Czech glass buttons (great for teddy bear eyes)

Antique dyed and carved shell buttons with metal escutcheons

Antique black boot buttons

A few tiny Czech glass buttons

Bone underwear buttons – the big holes are for lacing tapes on corsets etc.

Tiny MOP buttons

Lavender Czech glass buttons

A card of antique MOP buttons

A selection of antique carved MOP buttons

Enjoy!

Stay Tuned to my blog ’cause tomorrow I’m posting some vintage button giveaway competitions!

More Blogtoberfest madness here.

More Vintage Thingies Thursday goodies here.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/10/09/vintage-thingies-thursday-and-blogtoberfest-day-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your buttons are great! Enjoy…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/10/08/vintage-thingies-thursdays-red-yellow-tablecloth/

  2. Love your vintage buttons/sewing items! I have some of those underwear buttons, but I didn’t know what they were or why they had such big holes! Thanks for teaching us something!

  3. More vintage delights to drool over!! Love them all especially the stork scissors and the boot buttons…Oh and the underwear buttons for corsets..imagine!! xx

  4. Wow, who knew? Thank you for sharing! I learn something every Thursday about antique objects.

  5. Thank you for sharing about the bone rings for
    making crochet buttons. I’ve always wondered
    what those were used for. I found a few rings
    like them in my old buttons box!

  6. I like the little buttons with the red flowers!

  7. I have some of those buttons with the big eyes but I didn’t know what they were for. I’m so glad I found your blog through VTT! I’ll be back.

  8. That is such a neat collection!

  9. Lovely buttons!

  10. I love your vintage buttons, they are lovely. I am sitting out on VTT this week, I did not get my post done in time….wanted to stop by and say hello.

  11. I developed a love of old buttons recently, the ones with the flowers are my faves.

  12. I’ve seen those underwear buttons before and had no idea that is what they were! Wow, you never know what you’ll learn! My daughter and I have been buying buttons and zippers whenever we find them. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Beautiful stork scissors and mother of pearl buttons-oh those diamond shape buttons-exquisite.


Leave a Reply

