Blogtoberfest day 22 – some fun buttons…

Here are some fun buttons from the 1930s post-Depression era. They’re made from a natural plastic called casein. Casein is the main protein in milk – it makes up most of the milk curds. Curds can be molded into shapes then soaked in formaldehyde for months to harden. Casein, being a natural protein like wool, can take dyes very easily. I love these bright colours and fun shapes – they must have been very welcome after the dark days of the Depression.

 

 

 

 

For more Blogtoberfest check out Big Cat’s Emporium.

Published in: on October 22, 2008 at 10:05 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/10/22/blogtoberfest-day-22-some-fun-buttons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What beautiful colours. I would love to find out what my buttons are made from – hard to guess even using books… Thanks for the rainbow.

  2. Even though I didn’t win the giveaway (boohoo), I am enjoying seeing all your amazing buttons.Thanks for sharing. My studio is actually being taken over by buttons so I really don’t need any more (but that never stops me expanding my collection).
    Liz, Betty Jo Designs

  3. oh! the green one! and the red oval!


Leave a Reply

