Blogtoberfest day 23 and Vintage Thingies Thursday…

Blogging about buttons every day in October in celebration of Blogtoberfest!

I’d like to share a couple of pieces of jewellery with you. Both of these brooches are made from vintage buttons. The first one has a glass button at the centre surrounded by eight little pink plastic buttons. It’s glued onto what looks like a poker chip base – very sweet! The second is made from two celluloid wafer buttons with an antique cut steel button as the focus. It’s a beautiful piece of jewellery and always gets compliments when I wear it.

Jewellery was often made from buttons, especially during the Depression when such luxuries were unaffordable. In a way, these are similar to patchwork, in both design and philosophy -repurposing something  functional to make something new and beautiful. However, I can’t quite bring myself to put glue to vintage or antique buttons unless they’re damaged and have lost their value. Yet I don’t like to throw away damaged ones, as they can still be very lovely.

 

For more Vintage Thingies Thursday visit Confessions of an Apron Queen!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/blogtoberfest-day-23-and-vintage-thingies-thursday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve learned so much about buttons from your Blogtoberfest posts! I want to thank you heaps.

  2. How innovative & sooo pretty! I love recyling it just makes so much sense 🙂

  3. what a sweet button flower!

  4. Great upcycling… old buttons and poker chips! Gotta love it!

  5. Very creative. I love the pink flower pin. What a clever idea.

  6. That’s why I like to sew my pieces together so they can be re-repurposed!

  7. What a sweet flower! I also love the black button.

  8. Your button posts are such fun!

  9. I understand what you mean about glue
    and craft projects with the item you collect…
    When I see vintage jewelry glued to some
    projects I gag….. esp those Christmas trees
    from years ago, using all the rhinestones!
    great post!


Leave a Reply

