Oh no! I’ve joined another meme!! (aka Blogtoberfest day 27, Blue Monday and Veg about…)

I found this newspaper clipping generator and thought I’d have a bit of fun (I really do have a degree in Horticulture BTW)! Bellgirl has a meme going called veg about, where everyone can blog about their home-grown veg / herbs. A few years ago I had myself quite a collection of scented geraniums. Sadly I only have a few now, but I will make it a point to search for some in nurseries over the next few months. The variety of scents is amazing – there’s even a coconut scented one, and the lemon balm scent is to die for! This beautiful velvety one is peppermint scented. You can use it in cooking. It’s apparently wonderful if you bake a chocolate cake, then line the cooling rack with these leaves so the peppermint flavour infuses into the warm cake. I’ve never tried it because I don’t like the taste of peppermint, especially with chocolate.

My Kaffir lime tree in a pot, getting ready for all those lovely Thai meals…

Pineapple sage – how can a leaf smell so wonderful?

And bay….

And for Blue Monday and Blogtoberfest (blogging about buttons every day in October), heres some blue button flowers I made last night…

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/oh-no-ive-joined-another-meme-aka-blogtoberfest-day-27-blue-monday-and-veg-about/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What beautiful blue button flowers. I love it!
    *smiles*
    Kim

  2. I adore your blue button flowers. Those are really cute. You have some great photos on your blog. I enjoy visiting. Happy Blue Monday

  3. I love button flowers too, and scented geraniums! Beautiful blog!!

  4. What a pretty blue “flower”. It’s really so cute.
    Happy blue monday and I hope you enjoy your day!

  5. This is the first time I have seen button flowers! Your blue ones are so enchanting!

  6. I always enjoy your button creations!

  7. I like the newspaper clipping idea, and your information on geraniums is impressive. They don’t do well here in South Florida. Of course, I love the blue buttons. Thanks for sharing. Happy Blue Monday!

  8. I love your button flower – it is unique. It’s another “Why didn’t I think of that?” Great post. Happy Blue Monday.
    Sweetie

  9. I’ve made those button flowers too. They are fun, aren’t they? I’ve recently started adding round or scalloped cutouts of scrapbook paper to add more width to the blossoms.

  10. What a unique idea–buttons as flowers! Nice to find another flower person here. I’m submitting my Blue Monday flowers today.
    Nice meeting you.

  11. Ha! How fun those blue button flowers are. Just whipped them up last night…good job!
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/10/26/blue-monday-kitsap-peninsula/

  12. Your button flowers are amazing and pretty. Those must be fun to make. I like the other variations you make too. Checked back at your pink saturday. Love the pinks there too. Happy Blue Monday!

  13. Oh my! I love, love, love these, sooooo beautiful! I’m going to have to make some button flowers! I loooove buttons! How did you make them? Happy Blue Monday!

    Heidi Jo the Artist
    http://swirlsofcreativity.etsy.com
    http://swirlsofcreativity.blogspot.com

  14. I can’t figure out where to comment on your Pink Saturday post, so I’ll comment here too. Beautiful buttons! Great blog! Happy Pink Saturday too!

    Heidi Jo the Artist
    http://swirlsofcreativity.etsy.com
    http://swirlsofcreativity.blogspot.com

  15. Liz, I love the blue button flowers. They are wonderful

  16. Ooh excellent, you can be our Veg About Horticultural Consultant! That’s funny about the peppermint geranium- I often grow hers and vegies that wuld me nice to eat…if I actually liked that flavour!


Leave a Reply

