On My Desk, Wed 5th November

Well today I turned 50 – hard to believe it, but yep!. So my desk at work looks something like this:

wkdesk1sm

wkdesk2sm

My trusty iPod (my lifesaver when doing tissue culture or DNA work). A book on Florence Broadhurst who was a friend of my mum’s. A pic of me about 48 years ago, a birthday card and some buttons.

My friends threw a surprise birthday for me during the annual Melbourne Cup work festivities yesterday. There were balloons, flowers, gifts (a gift voucher for a massage / spa treatment at Villa Thalgo – how luxurious!). My friend Sumedha cooked a beautiful cake for me; it was pink and green (my favourite colours) and she decorated it with buttons made from icing. Here’s a close-up – actually that’s all that was left :

cake2sm

The table was strewn with shiny “50” decorations:

50sm

which looked somewhat better if they were inverted:

20-sm

 

And I won 2nd prize in the sweep! I also won Loani’s fabulous book that I was lusting after – you must check it out if you like a touch of whimsy: Wild Tea Cosies. Thankyou sooo much Loani!

For more desks visit Kootooyou!

Published in: on November 5, 2008 at 1:36 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/on-my-desk-wed-5th-november/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hope you had a wonderful day!

  2. A VERY HAPPY 50TH BIRTHDAY TO YOU, MY DEAR LIZ!! I can see from your pics that you had a Fantabulous Day & celebrated in fine style…wish I was there to have a slice of your yummy cake lol!!!

  3. Happy Birthday and all the best. Your desk looks so neat and organized.

  4. Happy birthday!

  5. Many Happy Returns dear Liz! I understand you had quite a celebration, and Sumheda pulled out all the stops as usual. Fabulous cake! Congratulations!

  6. Happy Birthday!! 😀

  7. happy late b-day to you i realy hope it was nice 🙂

  8. congratulations, and well done for winning the teacosy book, it looks fabulous!


Leave a Reply

