Vintage Thingies Thursday: Bakelite dress clips…

 I love bakelite. I collect bakelite buttons, buckles, dress clips, brooches and bracelets. It looks amazing whether intricately carved or minimalist and stylish. This week I’d like to share some of my bakelite dress clips with you. These were popular during the 1930s-40s, worn on sweetheart necklines.

yell-bak-dclips-web p1010070_edited

Two beautiful examples of Deco design at its best – a pair of marbled yellow clips, and a lotus-shaped clip in black with reverse-carved applejuice bakelite.

p1010053_edited red-deco

Two very different, but very stylish red and yellow clips. The first one has a painted-on design in yellow. It was quite common to find painted details on bakelite pieces.

 revcarv-clip leaf-clip-web

Two more naturalistic clips. The first is reverse-carved applejuice bakelite which has been painted in the carvings on the back. The second a gorgeous brown and butterscotch leaf.

I don’t think I could really pick a favourite out of these; how about you?

For more Vintage Thingies Thursday visit Confessions of an Apron Queen 

 vtt-link!

Published in: on November 13, 2008 at 12:34 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/vintage-thingies-thursday-bakelite-dress-clips/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think the earrings and the lotus clip are my favourite. I’d love to see more of your bakelite!

  2. hey liz! i love the two ‘applejuice’ ones. very pretty! you have some of the coolest vintage stuff! and tomorrow i’m posting my handmade goodness giveaway – that pay-it-forward one, where the first three comments get something handmade by me in the next year. i may shorten it to 6 months for myself though, so i actually get it done . . . *smile*

  3. WOW…they’re all STUNNING, Liz!! I love anything & everything bakelite lol!! xx

  4. These are great! Very art deco looking. I don’t think I have ever seen any like these. Great items today.

  5. Hi Liz in the Blue Mountains,NSW. I used to live in Leura & went to Katoomba High. I’m sure it’s all changed dramatically now!

    Love anything Art Deco & these are beauties!
    Roslyn

  6. Those are fantastic. I think I like the butterscotch leaf the best, but they’re all amazing. The applejuice ones remind me a lot of amber.

  7. Very beautiful pieces!

  8. That gasp you just heard came from me. These are all gorgeous!

  9. Wow, now I feel like I’ve been living under a rock, as I’d never heard of dress clips before. And they are so so beautiful – I really envy your collection 🙂

  10. I love the second one – very Deco and I’m also a fan of bakelite. I have a beautiful sun umbrella that was my great grandmothers – it has a few moth holes now but I think I’m going to start using it – so beautiful. Happy 50th!

  11. Those are ALL fabbo–thanks for sharing!

  12. These are beautiful! I think the bottom two are my favorite. The leaf especially.

  13. Love the bakelite! I collect it also, but it is very
    pricey in the marketplace. You have some fine examples
    and the colors are so bright, do you have a secret
    for keeping the colors so bright? My favorite is the
    reverse carved apple juice and the bright yellow pair!
    Jewelgirl


Leave a Reply

