Vintage Thingies Thursday…Deco furniture…

Deco furniture – I love it! The other day I had to drive to another campus of the uni I work for.  I only had to be there for 10 minutes, so I decided to make the trip worthwhile. It just happened that I had to drive right past my favourite secondhand furniture shop. There were some fabulous Art Deco pieces salvaged from old houses in Sydney. I just couldn’t resist this fabulous piece! $100, but it was worth buying for the handles alone! They were in mint condition, cream celluloid, shapely and beautiful.

decocab1 

There’s also a little display area where I can put some fabulous deco bakelite pieces.

decocab3

Look at the veneer on the doors, and that beautiful deco inset.

decocab4

mittagong-22-march-08-016

I’m thinking that some of these will look great displayed in my new cabinet!

may08-057

I also bought a deco dressing table, which I’m picking up this afternoon – might post that next week.

For more Vintage Thingies Thursday visit Colorado Lady!  Have a great week!

Published in: on November 20, 2008 at 9:20 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/11/20/vintage-thingies-thursdaydeco-furniture/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s a lovely cabinet for displaying your bakelite delights, Liz! My mum had a similar cabinet as well as a bedroom suite…you would’ve loved it 🙂 xx

  2. how cool!

    would love to see a pic of it all filled up and with things on top! oh, what fun!

  3. That cabinet is just wonderful, the wood grains are just super, and what a place to showcase those wonderful little buttons. Great find.

    If you tried to like to my VTT link, I had a bit of trouble with it this morning. Sorry. I am new to that feature. You can try and link back again to the post. I will get this worked out.

  4. Love the cabinet BUT the bakelite….
    I am drooling! I would be digging through
    it all.. enjoying every piece!!!! I hope
    your pictures enlarge!!!!

  5. That is a very beautiful cabinet…the cabinet and your bakelite will complement each other so wonderfully. Hope you’ll post a picture when you have it set up.

  6. you are so lucky to have got that piece…..just perfect for yr collection

  7. Will you share you’re favourite shop? You could email me 🙂 I work for a uni too but we don’t have too many other campuses so I’m assuming I know the one you work for – in which case your shop might be in our neck of the woods somewhere? $100 is great for this sideboard. I’m not into Deco so much but it is a lovely piece.


Leave a Reply

