Vintage Thingies Thursday…. more bakelite lovelies…

Its becoming another obsession.  Carved bakelite – I just love it! How can plastic look so beautiful? Here is a group of dress clips that arrived the other day; the colours are rich and they glow with a beautiful translucence. And then there’s the carving! 

 bakelite-clips-1

dress-clips2

The bottom one is reverse-carved and painted applejuice bakelite. The picture really doesn’t do it justice – it’s exquisite!

bak4

 I also love laminated bakelite. To me its the epitome of Art Deco style. This fabulous bangle is black and butterscotch laminated together, as is the rather gorgeous buckle.

bl-yell-buckle

 Another gorgeous buckle from the 1930s.

For more Vintage Thingies Thursday, visit Colorado Lady!

Published in: on November 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/vintage-thingies-thursday-more-bakelite-lovelies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. i adore bakelite and i think your buckles & clips are fabulous 🙂

  2. what do you do with all your collection…sell or keep?

  3. oooh those are wonderful! I love bakelite!

  4. Such beauties!

  5. Your bakelite is so neat. I never see that around here–in large amounds anyway! It’s usually a piec or two at a time. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Oh your collection of bakelite is wonderful. That buckle is just a treasure in itself. Great items today. Have a great day!

  7. these are so lovely – from your picture I can just see you in a vintage outfit wearing these. I love the last one. I didn’t know they used to carve bakelite. I’ll have to dig out my great grandma’s sun umbrella one Vintage Thingy Thursday to show you the handle – it’s lovely.

    PS I’ve tagged you for a meme if you feel like playing

  8. These are all so unique! I’d love to hear how you go about finding all of these things in such great condition.

  9. I love looking at all your treasures. So very lovely. Thanks for the offer of vintage tins. I am interested in talking to you about any that you don’t want.

  10. very pretty pieces


Leave a Reply

