Back to blogging….

Hi everyone. Hope you had a great Christmas / New Year break. It’s funny how you can cope with having a heap of things ‘on your plate’ throughout the year, but as soon as the holidays come, everything falls to pieces. That’s kind of what happened to me over the last few weeks. I did a little crash and burn as soon as I went on hols, and blogging was just too much trouble for a few weeks. Thanks to all who wrote and asked if I was OK – yes, just renewing my energy!

Anyhoo, I did make time for some serious op-shopping, and found myself coming home with some seriously great vintage and retro fabric:

 fab-stack-2

p1010087

This is the most wonderful retro curtain – must be at least 14 usable metres of fabric in it!

p1010082 p1010080

Vintage polished cotton and strawcloth.

And some other goodies:

ric-rac-1

And I’ve been prompted to go back to a vocation I had many years ago – I used to be dressmaker. I had my own business for about 10 years, but as soon as I started making wedding / bridesmaids dresses, I got so bored with making the same things over and over again.  So I changed careers, but I’ve always got a bit of a sewing bug laying dormant, waiting for the right project to come along. I made a few quilts when my kids were little (might write a post about that one day), but now I’m into upcycling. It’s amazing how much great fabric you can find in a curtain, sheet or tablecloth! So I bought some great old apron patterns from the 1940s and 50s, and I’ve been sewing up a storm:

bl-pink-ap1

A cute little 1950s flared number in vintage polished cotton.

petal-2

A petal apron from some quilting fabric leftovers.

lime-check1

A fab little 1950s circular number – lime green check with that huge black rick rack. The check used to be a cot valance.

retro-orange-1a2

A very retro yellow/orange/brown apron with acid yellow rick rack – this used to be a curtain.

floral-pink1

And a more demure style, again an ex-curtain.

I’m going to add some vintage buttons for a bit of extra oomph. I’ve also got lots more ideas for re-purposing napkins, doilies, cloths etc. Just need to keep going with the old sewing machine!

Published in: on January 13, 2009 at 3:22 pm  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/01/13/back-to-blogging/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yum yum yum yum. Specially like that green and black frilly thing. Sort of naughty but nice.

  2. I really like that orange and white flower fabric. Perfect fabric to use to brighten up a grey day here

  3. Oh it’s GREAT to have you back, Liz!! Love your fabric stash especially the retro curtain…love the green & purple. And those aprons are super cute..the 50s circular one is MAGIC!! You’re sooo clever 🙂 xx

  4. welcome back, Liz.
    Those aprons are gorgeous.

  5. Your blog of gorgeous things is just incredible. Thanks so much for sharing. And you do a really super job of photographing your treasures. Much appreciated! Happy sewing!

  6. Oh my goodness, you have found the BEST stuff. Those fabrics are sensational, and all that lovely old ric rak is making me drool!!! Great job on the aprons too – I’ve got a bit of a thing for vintage aprons so these are right up my alley!! Nothing better than donning a well-made frocky little apron to get in the baking mood – I have even made mini-vintage-style aprons for my kids, and they wear theirs while we cook. Aaaahhhh, it’s a the little things 😛

  7. So glad to see you are in fact ok and back into the blogging thing. Lucky you what a great stack of rick rack. I love it. Your aprons are lovely. Happy sewing!

  8. oh! so nice to see you again!

    that first apron is so pretty!

    and all that rick-rack! oh, you lucky lady!

  9. Your vintage fabrics are just adorable! I love old fabrics and especially ric rac, will love to see what you do with it all.

  10. I love the aprons and those enormous bolts of rickrack make me salivate!


Leave a Reply

