Vintage Thingies Thursday… bakelite obsession

Yes, I have to admit it… my passion for bakelite has become an(other) obsession! Especially when its two colours… laminated together… red and yellow for instance….

deco4

I don’t usually collect butter knives, but how could I resist? Opaque yellow bakelite coupled with transparent red bakelite (prystal). But it’s the holder that makes the set so worthwhile – it’s not just another set of knives in a box, it’s a fabulous deco display!

And so is this one:

deco1

This fabulous belt buckle arrived the other day.  The workmanship is amazing. The long red and yellow linked buckle is just so stylish – I want to turn it into a bracelet, but I’ll have to put my thinking cap on as it’s just a tad short, and the pointy bits stick up.

deco6

For lots more vintage goodies, and I daresay a peek at other’s obsessions, visit Coloradolady’s blog!

Published in: on January 28, 2009 at 8:38 pm  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/01/28/vintage-thingies-thursday-bakelite-obsession/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. gorgeous butter knife sets 😀 would look perfectly fine sitting on a shelf not getting used, don’t see holders like that very often

  2. Those knives are amazing, and the stand is what makes them a must-buy!
    I’d be interested to know how you identify something as Bakelite.

  3. I hardly ever see bakelite here. And especially so nice looking!

  4. I love bakelite…just about anything! Wonderful collection.

  5. What a fun thing to collect! I love the red and yellow too.

  6. Absolutely stunning pieces of Bakelite!
    It is very expensive in the USA these
    days.

  7. love your collection, red and yellow really do look good together.

  8. Of course I don’t want to talk about Bakelite when there are tea cosies to talk about! I see on your Flickr that there are TEA COSIES not yet blogged anywhere! Or did I just miss it, being on hols and all. I feel very upset – I might have missed the joy of these but for your Flickr side panel. Oh well – another place to visit. 🙂
    Loani

  9. Such wonderful items….weren’t they something in the day, and even more so now! Just cool as heck!

  10. YAY you’re back!!! Gotta say those knives (both sets) are D-I-V-I-N-E to say the least..and i love the buckles, yeah they’re def cool bracelet material 🙂

  11. Oh I just adore bakelite too! The knife set is so vintage and would look great in my home….

  12. Welcome back!! I love this set of knives. They are very unusual and very pretty. I like bakelite too, but these take the cake! Great Post…thanks for sharing. Have a great week.

  13. I can understand why you collect this beautiful bakelite. Thanks for shaaring. Happy VTT Day.

  14. Gorgeous colors you have, no wonder you are obsessed with bakelite.

  15. What beautiful bakelite-I love both sets of knives and their holders.

  16. WOW! I never knew that such wonderful sets were made from Bakelite! Hang on to those – they look like museum-quality pieces!

  17. Those are very pretty and unique. I don’t think I have ever seen any.

  18. I love the buckle! I don’t think I have ever seen anything like that – a great find. I am also intrigued by the tea cozies in your sidebar – heading that way to check them out. ~Kelly

    unDeniably Domestic

  19. I can’t say I’m familiar with bakelite but your collection sure does look interesting. I love the color combinations

  20. Very, very cool bakelite set! You are right–the holder makes them especially unique. I have a complete, serving set for 4 in yellow. Love them and am always on the lookout for more. I usually have to sell the best, but always enjoy handling and seeing the stuff!
    Enjoyed my visit!
    Blessings to You!
    Claudia O.

  21. Cool stuff!

    And that would make such a great bracelet!


Leave a Reply

