Vintage Thingies Thursday … vintage meat safe…

Last weekend I took a drive up the mountains and found an antique shopped tucked away in a little road off the highway.  It was full of beautiful vintage sewing paraphernalia, some lovely antique smocked children’s dresses, and some of the loveliest china I’ve seen in a while.

It also had this:

meatsafe3

It doesn’t have it anymore.  How could I walk past this beauty and not buy it? It still has the ant-capping on the feet.

I just love the cream and green colours so typical of the period.  It kind of matches my canisters, previously featured on VTT. 

willowcan2

It also matches some of my vintage buttons, which is always a good thing. I mean, how many people can say that they have a meat safe that matches their buttons???

endofday green-buffed

 

I’m going to hang it on my back verandah, but I don’t think I’ll keep meat in it. I value my digestive system too much for that. But I bet it’ll be great for drying fruit and herbs.

Check out more Vintage Thingies goodness at Coloradolady’s blog!

Published in: on February 19, 2009 at 12:59 pm  Comments (21)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/02/19/vintage-thingies-thursday-vintage-meat-safe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is a very unusual find…I have never seen anything like that! I love the colors too, love the green and cream together. Have a great week…thanks for the chance to see your latest find. This was fun.

  2. I’ve never seen anything like this. What a great day you had.

  3. Oh what a treasure, I haven’t seen one of these in years. I know you will enjoy it, no matter what you use it for. I’d enjoy just using it for decoration.

  4. What a great find..and I betcha you’re right. It will make a great drying area. Happy VTT and have a wonderful weekend.

  5. WoW..you know how i love vintage meatsafes..you’ve bagged yourself a little beauty, Liz!! xx

  6. Wow!! I’m speechless, what cool stuff.
    Ohhhh, you lucky duck!!

  7. That is so cool! I think you’re right, it would be wonderful for drying herbs. Every Thursday, I get the itch to go vintage shopping. Does everyone else?

  8. That’s so cool! I think it would be pretty holding your tea towels.

    Oooh ooh. You could sew your matching buttons to the teatowels and keep them in the matching meat safe!

  9. I believe it is my first time to your lovely blog home…and at home I am! Buttons? Did you say BUTTONS? I totally love vintage buttons…AND those antique shops that seem so special because they seem so “hidden” away, like button treasures from Grammys button box…ok new BUTTON Buddie…I’m going to Button up my lips here so you can push some buttons and visit my blog too! Great to meet you!

  10. Fantastic finds–would have loved to be with you. Your tins are great and I love the cream and green colors. I have never seen a meat safe before but I think drying herbs in it would be lovely.

  11. What a wonderful unusual find-and I bet it would good for cooling pies in too!

  12. What a neat find. Of course you couldn’t leave it there!

    JudyBug

  13. I’ve never thought of matching my kitchen stuff to buttons! teehee! Thanks for sharing such a neat item!

  14. Great find! You could make strands of buttons that match it and drape them like garland. Dress it up!

  15. What an incredibly awesome find!

  16. I’ve never seen one of these before. What a great find! Thanks for sharing it with us. I love learning about things like this.

  17. Wow! What a great find. I love the green button with cable border as well. Lucky you! Your tea cozies make me smile every time I come for a visit. ~kelly

    http://www.deniablydomestic.blogspot.com

  18. That’s a wonderful piece! I can just imagine a deer hunter seeing that and wanting to put his venison in it!

    And, yes, I am envious that you have a matching meat safe and buttons! LOL!

  19. Beautiful!!

  20. I’ve never seen (or heard of) a meat safe before either. It reminds me a lot of a pie safe. Great finds!

  21. we use to have built in meat safes in Nz


Leave a Reply

