Knitting Therapy

For those who read my previous post, you’ll know that I recently spent some time in hospital. The legacy of that episode has left me with a lot of numbness in my left arm, and some very shaky fine motor control. It took me about 4 weeks to gather up the courage to see if I could still knit. I can tell you it was a very happy moment when I took up the needles and found that I could! So I’ve been knitting up a storm whilst recuperating.

My first effort: A diagonal piece that will eventually have a partner and live out a happy life as a tea cosy (Cleckheaton Vintage Hues wool): 

P1010017

Another tea cosy improvised from the Mason Dixon ballband dishcloth pattern. I think it has a lovely vintage feel to it. Just needs to be sewn up and embellished….

P1010016

The beginnings of a mitred throw  in purple, blue and green hues:

P1010014

I finished my Noro Silk Garden diagonal garter stitch scarf:

P1010002

I said I’d never knit socks, but………

All that lovely sock wool out there. How could I just window shop?

P1010011

I modified the K2 P2 rib into a lacy rib for the multi coloured pair.

I’m sure all this knitting is good Occupational Therapy.

I’m feeling a lot better this week, even went back to work 2 part days. Still lots of free time for knitting. Thanks for all your good wishes – it makes such a difference!

cheers, Liz

Published in: on May 15, 2009 at 4:15 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/knitting-therapy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yay! Go Liz. ThatIS good news. And look what you can do. Thinking of you and wishing you well again. Back at work a little bit – that is good too.

  2. that is great news that you can still knit 😀 and everything looks great. love the multi coloured sock!

  3. Gosh you are so prolific even in recouperation mode!!!How brave of you to take that step to see if you could knit still. We can all imagine the fear of not being able to do our favourite craft! Glad to hear you are on the mend!

  4. LOL love the socks – I have the purple ones on at the mo. Well done, I am positive that knitting is a real ‘occupational therapy’ too – very soothing

  5. Fantastic news, keep up with the knitting therapy, it must be very therapuetic, I love those socks!

  6. so glad to hear that you are doing better!

    lots of lovely knitting going on!

    keep posting once-in-a-while – so we know that you are still on the mend!

  7. Yay! I’m so happy for you that you can still knit :o) Hope you’re feeling good :o)


Leave a Reply

