Vintage Thingies Thursday – vintage button cards

Hi everyone! It’s been quite a while since I posted on VTT. I’ve been sick but am on the mend, so what better way to cheer up than with these lovely old cards of buttons!

White casein triangles c.1930s, and casein buttons for little girls?

triangle girl

Lovely red buttons on a very deco card

 reddeco

How lovely are these blue and green flowers?

blufls grapes

And those yummy celluloid grapes!

Cowboys…cowboy  arrows

Paris…eiffel

 Beautiful bakelite – I looooove bakelite!

 bkfls

Love these ‘cool’ vintage graphics…

blsh bur shirt

Pristine cards of 1950s buttons that I bought off a lady whose mum and grandma used to sew these buttons on to cards in the evenings  for extra income for the family

50srose  FB 012 FB 020

And even Barbie gets a mention… I guess she’s vintage too!

 Barbiebuttons

These are only a very few of my collection of vintage button cards. I look forward to sharing more of them with you another VTT.

  vtt-link1

Published in: on July 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm  Comments (19)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/07/30/vintage-thingies-thursday-vintage-button-cards/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These are great! The cowboy and Indian buttons are adorable. There is nothing like button on vintage cards, they are so charming.

    Glad to see you back for VTT! Glad you are feeling better too!

    Have a great VTT!

  2. YAY! HOORAY! HIP HIP! Yahoo! You are back!!! So lovely to see you. You’ve been sorely missed. Please don’t go away again. It’s not nice.
    Lotsaluv

    Loani

  3. Hi there – wow those are great – a beautiful variety. Those navy and green flower buttons next to the grapes, i think i have the same in pink and green that you can maybe spot in the big pile > http://www.buttoncandy.org/?p=204 i find it amazing how buttons feel so unique but its whats interesting is how many of them come from around the world but are the same. Obviously globalization is to blame but i find so many of the same types from different places. i also think that it is nice to know that there is a match for every single button i own.

  4. all of those cards are really neat 😀 love the buttons on them but it is interesting to see how the packaging on them differs. don’t think you would get a smoker on a card now :p

  5. I love the casein triangle buttons best! All your buttons are lovely.
    Good to hear you are back and knitting. It will take a lot of time, patience and work before everything is quit back to normal.

  6. super cute buttons.. I like the pink ones!

  7. Glad you’re feeling better, and are joining in for VTT!
    I like old buttons alot, but I LOVE them when they’re still on the cards! The graphics on some of them are just as great as the buttons themselves! What a great collection you have. If I had to pick a favorite, it would be the green buttons with the little girl on the card!

  8. Great buttons, but the packaging with the cool graphics I like even better. Glad to hear you are feeling better!

  9. I love that he is smoking in the button label graphic. That is so funny. Lovely buttons, wish I could find as many!

  10. oh how wonderful to have you back, Liz!!..and you know about my passion for buttons, don’t you lol!!!..i love them all esp the bakelite ones which remind me of butter menthols 🙂

  11. Oh, I just love vintage buttons. Especially white mother of pearl. You have a nice collection there.

    Debbie

  12. How on earth do you resist actually using the buttons? All are soooo cute!!!!

    Thanks for sharing!

  13. What great buttons – the manufacturers never dreamed their items would be displayed as vintage, on a blog, on a computer, in 2009! Have a great day!

  14. I love your button cards. I didn’t know that women were able to sew them to cards at home. Interesting. thanks for sharing. Glad you are back.

  15. Ooooo, your buttons are lovely..specially the tiny flowers…, but I actually loved them all. How do you display all these wonderous button cards? Happy VTT, and have a wonderful weekend.
    p.s. Your knitting below is so pretty..I love those socks..:)

  16. You must have a fantastic collection, glad to hear that you are feeling better!

  17. A beautiful collection and so sweet of you to share.
    Glad you are feeling better.

  18. As I was working my way down the post, I kept deciding on new favorites…but, they are all so wonderful that I can’t decide! What a wonderful collection. ~Kelly

    unDeniably Domestic

  19. Oh! Love those butterscotch Bakelite buttons!
    All of them are wonderful!


Leave a Reply

