Vintage Thingies Thursday – bakelite buttons

Some of you may know that I have a penchant for bakelite.  I’d like to share some of the vintage bakelite coat buttons I’ve been collecting over the last few years. These are all BIG buttons, mostly black or brown, but they have the most beautiful decorations, often in the form of escutcheons.

These two beauties have glass centres, the first is silver lustred.

b +glass2 b + redglass

These two have brass filigree work and amber glass faceted centres. The third is tortoiseshell bakelite with a carved chocolate bakelite centre. The fourth is marbled bakelite with a brass rose escutcheon.

b = amber b + amberb + b P1010046_edited

These next four have filigree or lacy metal escutcheons. Don’t you just love the shape of that last one?

b + swirl b + filigree

b + 2metal b marquis

A beautiful black and applejuice laminated button, with reverse carving on the applejuice portion. And a carved beauty in marbled browns.

lam bk carve bk

So head on over to Coloradolady’s blog for more VTT treasures!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/08/06/vintage-thingies-thursday-bakelite-buttons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank goodness you didn’t ask us to choose a favorite! They are all fabulous!

  2. I can see why you collect these buttons. They are simply beautiful. Glad you shared with us.

  3. Those are beautiful buttons. Thanks for sharing!

  4. these are all so gorgeous

  5. oh oh oh i’m feeling faint!!!!! your bakelite buttons are the BEST i’ve ever seen, Liz!!! it’s just to difficult to choose a fav..they’re all GORGEOUS!!!!

  6. Oh my gosh..these buttons are gorgeous..just wonderful.
    Happy VTT..have a lovely weekend.

  7. What a wonderful collection of bakelite buttons! They are just gorgeous!!

  8. Girl…you do have some wonderful buttons…I have enjoyed these very much..too much in fact, just wishing I could find a few like these…they are so pretty!!

    Have a great VTT!

  9. Gorgeous buttons-BTW what do you do with all your tea cozies? I have a couple of old ones I crocheted. Glad to know you are on the mend.

    • Hi,
      I have a whole lot of old teapots from Vinnies that I display them on, on top of an old Art Deco dresser. There are supply of spares I keep in a drawer and change the display from time to time!

  10. nice buttons! love the design and the texture of each button.. very unique.. thanks for sharing

  11. I love these buttons. Who am I kidding? I love all buttons. I am going to have to go through my buttons and find my bakelite. I know I have some…Thanks for sharing your beauties.

  12. Love your buttons, these are terrific close ups of
    them. I think I have a few of these in my mini collection!

  13. What a GREAT thing to collect – can’t wait to check out your website! Those buttons are just BEYOND cute!!!

  14. Wow, wow, wow! I do love Bakelite as well and these buttons are over the top!
    Cheers!

  15. I was away last week and missed these beauties. They are adorable!

  16. Hi I am trying to find vintage bakelite or bakelite look coat buttons for my brown persian fur. I am trying no to spend more than the coat:) Do you have any websites you could reccomend? I bought some out of Canada and they are beautiful but to small. I’ve tried ETSY end ebay and can’t seem to find any when I have googled. I did contact one place in CA but they were SOOOO expensive. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    THANK YOU!!
    Liz Bernstein
    Lizziebe2244@comcast.net

  17. Hi I restore old Bakelite telephones, I just wondered what you use to polish your bakelite buttons ? Regards & thanks Karen

    • Hi Karen,
      I use Simichrome polish which you can get from the US, otherwise i find that creme cleansers like Jif work well,
      cheers
      Liz


Leave a Reply

