Vintage Thingies Thursday – vintage pearl button cards

Hi, and welcome to another Vintage Thingies Thursday, hosted by Colorodolady.

Continuing on the theme of my last two VTT posts,  I ‘d like to share some of my pearl button cards.

These lovelies date back to around 1920’s – 30’s.

pearl6 MOP card pearl4 pearl3

Beautiful cards of dyed shell buttons. I think these would lovely framed and hung together as a set:

yelprl red shell

grprl blprl

The graphics are so elegant!

prl9 mermaidprl prl3

The lovely lady series, including a Hawaiian theme!

redlady sq shell grprls

MOP 3 ladyprl4 ladypearl

Babies and children:

babypearl pearl8 Mop 2

Some dyed emerald green buttons for your man’s shirt??

And some uniform buttons. Does that doctor look suspiciously like Clark Kent?

manprl docnur

dn2 nurse

Thanks for dropping by!

Pop over to  Colorodolady for more VTT fun!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/vintage-thingies-thursday-vintage-pearl-button-cards/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Fantastic button cards–some of those graphics are priceless. You have a wonderful collection.

  2. Maybe it’s because I collect cards–I find those vintage pearl button cards more interesting than fancy buttons. I think I will keep my eyes open for some.

  3. These are some wonderful button cards. I love the first set of buttons, so very pretty. I have not seen too many around here with cards this beautiful. Thanks for sharing, and what a lovely post. Have a great VTT!

  4. You have a wonderful collection. The graphics are just as interesting as the buttons!

  5. Love all these pretty,pretty buttons.I specially like little baby buttons in the middle and those gorgeous red ones. You have a wonderful collection. Happy VTT..have a great weekend.

  6. I remember playing with buttons like these – – – and many, many more in my mom’s button box. I think one of my girls inherited that wonderful box from my mom.

  7. I think the cards themselves might be prettier than the buttons! Love the Lady Washington Pearls card! I’m wondering how you display all of the cards, because they are all little works of art!

  8. awww look at the button cards! so pretty! almost like a greeting card! very pretty illustrations! thanks for sharing.. and have a great day!

  9. once again i love them all..the cards are fabulous, he sure does look like Clark Kent lol!!

  10. superman is a doctor too? o.0 :p

    those dyed shell buttons would indeed look wonderful framed, an old frame from the same time period would look great 🙂

  11. I love your buttons and the button cards!

  12. What a wonderful collection you have. I love the graphics.

  13. I love the art work on these cards, too. I wish businesses put as much care into details like that today.

  14. What a great collection of buttons that are still on the cards. This is wonderful you have such an assortment. Nice of you to take to comment and visit.

  15. Wonderful buttons – and to have full cards of them is so rare! My favorite is the graphics on Mermaid Pearls!
    Cheers!

  16. A great collection in such nice shape too.

  17. Just beautiful again! Especially the rich green buttons and the cute little nurse’s card

  18. I’m very enviuos of your collection!

  19. the cards are little works of art.
    I love them.

  20. yay! you are really back! and with lots of lovely buttons! oh, i love looking!


Leave a Reply

