Family Treasures, part 2… card boxes

Hi, and welcome to another Vintage Thingies Thursday, hosted by Suzanne at Coloradolady.

This week I’d like to share my collection of vintage boxes/baskets made with vintage greeting cards and wallpaper.

These two lovely boxes are embellished with lace and ribbons:

A friend of mine was about to throw out this shopping bag that belonged to an auntie. It now holds a small portion of my vintage lace and braid collection.

These two letter holders are both made from wallpaper, the first has floral embellishments. Both picked up at the local op shops.

I love this hexagonal basket with its rosy embellishments . It’s just the right size for a knitting project or two.

Please see my previous post for more vintage lovelies.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/family-treasures-part-2-card-boxes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those are so unusual. I have never seen some like that! Thanks for sharing

  2. Wow, I’ve never seen anything like those! Are those things that you’ve made or do they come to you like that??? wow!

    Happy VTT!
    Tracy

    • No, I didn’t make them, but I’d like to give it a try one day. Thanks for visiting!

  3. Your hexagon basket is just gorgeous!

  4. That’s a pretty collection. I especially like the basket with the green handle. I haven’t seen things like that here.

  5. Wow I love your creations! They are lovely. Thank you for your nice comment.
    Ann

  6. I love your pieces with vintage greeting cards and wallpaper, I’ve never seen those before! And that shopping bag you saved from being thrown away is gorgeous!

    Kat πŸ™‚

  7. These baskets are so pretty made with the cards. they make nice keepsakes.

    Debbie

  8. How clever and creative are you. All the items you featured today are lovely. Great job.

  9. I have seen these before at a friends mom….long ago! I like the baskets a lot, great that recycled materials were used! Happy VTT!

  10. They are all adorable, but I absolutely love the shopping bag and the basket

    http://thriftshopadventures,blogspot,com

  11. Wow, what interesting items…I haven’t seen any of those here in the U.S.

  12. Wow, that is some of the neatest artwork I’ve ever seen! I’ve never come across anything like it before, how cool! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Fun uses for old cards, I especially like the hexagonal basket.

  14. Cute-cute-cute! I’ve got 3 crocheted/card containers. I just love them!

  15. My great grandmother had a phone book cover made the same way amongst other things. I love that bag lucky you saved it from being thrown out!! You were in the right place at the right time!

  16. Liz, these are such sweet old gems! they’ve gotta be my all time faves..i just find it hard to resist those darling card boxes! As for the baskets..can’t have too many of them either lol..they’re adorable and oh so practical!

    btw i LOVE my ‘new’ buttons..thank you πŸ™‚ x

  17. Loved the vintage boxes, I would love to see a larger pic of the first pic. I’m trying to figure out how they are made. They look like they are crocheted together with yarn? Just beautiful, thank you for sharing.
    Margaret

    • Yes they have holes punched through all layers and are crocheted together. The more heavy-duty baskets are bound together with plastic twine. Thanks for visiting!

  18. What a pretty collection!


Leave a Reply

