Vintage Thingies Thursday….kitchen utensils and more

Hi and welcome to another Vintage Thingies Thursday hosted by Suzanne over at Coloradolady blog.

I love old cooking utensils – I don’t have many, but I can see that these could easily become addictive to collect.  The first three in the pic belong to my mum. I can picture coming home from school in the 60s and my grandmother pounding the meat to make schnitzels with that meat tenderiser! I picked up the lovely old egg beaters at a local op shop yesterday for $8.50.

Lovely old scales, rusty metal and faded red plastic. The 1950s cloth was also an Oppie find – I paid a whole $2 for it!

Not really a utensil, but how could I resist showing you my mum’s 1950s lazy susan. It’s missing the bowl in the centre, but otherwise in pretty good nick – I just love the colours. I remember we had a set of plates and bowls to match (if you can call un-matched colours a match). I was so happy to find this in her cupboard.

And lastly , well I couldn’t resist buying this for $2 at the local Oppie – it’s such a giggle. Any guesses to what it could be? I first thought it was a garlic press, but no….

It comes apart into two pieces…..

But what really made me buy it was the explanation printed on one side.

“Distinctive” party ice crusher, complete with its own built-in ‘ice spoon’ (which I’ve only just noticed!)  Hmmm…. small party, or do you buy one for each guest so they can crush their own? Maybe a job for the kids?  Or maybe you start crushing a week in advance?  Certainly different from the one built into my fridge door!


Have a great week!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/vintage-thingies-thursday-kitchen-utensils-and-more/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You have a lot of old kitchen utensils. I remember us using most all of them except the last one. I am not familiar with that.

  2. I have never seen a ice crusher like this…this is very interesting. I love all of your utensils,and I think you found them for a great price! Have a great VTT!

  3. That ice crusher is SUCH a fun find! I’ve never seen anything like it.

  4. I never saw that kind of ice crusher. It looks like it would be hard to use.

  5. I have three of the utensils in the first photo – the meat pounder-thingy, the egg beater and I think the other is a cheese slicer. I don’t know what it is, I don’t use it, I just have it!

  6. I just love the old kitchen utensils, and that vintage tablecloth too! Hey, we had an ice crusher similar (but more menacing looking) than yours. I used it a time or two. You needed muscles and coordination. Then mom gave up and just wrapped the cubes in a kitchen towel and whacked them with the thing!

  7. The background fabric is soooo pretty!

  8. Utentils can be really a habit forming collection. Seems like every antique store or thrift shop has a number of them. I still have a meat tenderizer like that one that I have used for years.
    Ann

  9. Love that orange scale, especially!

  10. I love old kitchen utensils, and you are right, they are addictive to collect! I love yours.

  11. I used to love playing with an egg beater like yours! I had never seen an ice-crusher before.

  12. Very cool vintage kitchen utensils! I love using those. The lazy susan is a hoot and so is the ice crusher!

    Thanks foe sharing!

  13. Vintage kitchen utensils are so interesting. The ice crusher is really cool!

  14. That ice crusher is great. I have never seen one before. You have a wonderful collection of vintage utensils.

    Love,
    Susan and Bentley
    xxoo

  15. Oh you’re in my LOVE area today! Love the red/white, love the table cloth, love the kitchen utensils, love it all. Your bog is lovely 🙂

  16. That’s just how my Mum’s eggbeater looked!

  17. The best thing about the kitchen utensils is the RED handles! 🙂

  18. The cloth in the background is so pretty, it looks great with the vintage utensils. I have seen some untensils that I can’t figure out what they were for so I love that you ice crusher has a purpose imprinted on it.

  19. Oh man I just had a flashback! I looked at that ice crushed and realized Id seen one before – my parents had one. Must have gotten in for their wedding or when setting up thier household? I dont know …hadnt thought of it in years and I wonder if its still around! hmmmm

    visiting late from VTT,
    Tracy

  20. OOOOHHHH me thinks you’re on a very slippery slope Liz..you’ve caught the kitchenalia bug, alright!there’s no turning back, you know i’m right hahaha!!

    btw it’s a lovely bug to catch 🙂 xx

  21. lov your red scales & i would have brought home that ice crusher as well, just too funny


Leave a Reply

