Flea market finds – well…garage sale!

This is my first time participating in flea market finds at Sophie’s place. It also fits in well with my regular Vintage Thingies Thursday post – join in over at Coloradolady.

I don’t often go to garage sales. Maybe because I’m too lazy to get up early on a Saturday. Or maybe I find it hard to choose which one to put at the top of the list. Or maybe I fear my house might end up looking a bit like a tip because some things are so hard to resist. But a couple of Saturdays ago I was on my way to visit my mum, and saw someone walking out of a garage sale with what looked like vintage cream enamel bowls. Mental note to oneself – ‘I must stop in on the way home, even though it’s after 1 in the afternoon, and 17 year old son is driving and hates garage sales’.  So we stopped. And 17 year old helped me pack the car with these great finds:

Two vintage leather hat boxes,  $5 each.

A nest of four different suitcases. The largest is leather. It’s in great nick except for a broken handle. $5 for all four. I now have a stack of suitcases topped with hat boxes decorating my bedroom.

Two circular metal tins which I’m told are also hat boxes. I guess they were for picture hats as they are quite large. They’re all rusty but, who cares? $5 for the two plus a couple of old metal biscuit tins. They are on the verandah, under cover.

I was very happy with my finds. So happy that I went back a couple of days later and bought something else. I’ll leave that one for another post.

Looking forward to seeing everybody’s thrifted goodies!

Published in: on April 7, 2010 at 2:10 pm  Comments (15)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/flea-market-finds-well-garage-sale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You may not really like garage sales, but you sure did great on this trip. You picked up some very nice vintage things.

  2. What wonderful finds!! Love the hat boxes. I’ve never seen tin ones before – but I love them too!!

  3. Those have a lot of character.

  4. Oh my goodness! I love everything you found at that garage sale. The suitcases and the hat boxes are fabulous. Great bargains!!

  5. These are such wonderful pieces! I love the tin ones, those are great! What a great bunch of treasure you found this day! Have a great VTT!

  6. Wow….amazingly great finds…I so love vintage suitcases and hat boxes. Happy Vintage Thursday!
    xojanis

  7. Great find! Love the tins.

  8. Ohhhh…..I’m loving these. What cool finds!

  9. You did really well in finding treasures. Love those tins and hat boxes, Happy VTT..have a lovely weekend.

  10. If it weren’t for yardsales, my house would be empty! I always tell people my house is decorated in Early American Yard Sale! You are right about not being able to part with something once you bring it home. And yard saling is an addiction! But I love it!

  11. Great finds! You did very well! Thakd for sharing 🙂

  12. Awesome treasure!! Lucky you!
    *hugs*deb

  13. I love all of your leather finds. I would have picked them in in a heartbeat. Happy Vintage Thingie Thursday.

  14. Great finds! Love the nesting leather hat boxes!

  15. I know what you mean I never seem to take the time to stop at “garbage” sales! or the thrift shops either! but you got quite a haul, nice work aren’t you glad you stopped?


Leave a Reply

