Flea Market Finds….

I felt so restless today. I just had to get out of the house, but I needed a nice quiet drive. So I headed ‘down the mountain” and ‘up the other side’. A nice drive of about 45 minutes with a few of my favourite places to stop at along the way.

The first was a spot nicknamed ‘the 5 acre garage sale’. As its name suggests, it’s pretty extensive. You can buy just about anything from a bottle top to a train carriage (yes, they cost $7000). I settled for something in-between. I have a passion for vintage green (you know, the spearmint kind) and pink/red. So these were perfect. A 50s cake tin, minus the lid, but that’s OK, it was cheap enough. I practically bought the metal cake tin for the handle alone. Lovely bakelite in a rich, glowing cherry red.

I rather liked these 50s-ish dishes with their sketchy, food designs for only $5.

A little vintage wallpaper box, and two 50s vegemite glasses with green floral design.

A bit further along my drive I found an open air antique market. I couldn’t resist this gorgeous little bunny planter – pink and green – perfect!  He’s in remarkably good condition for his age, especially with those delicate flowers.

Lovely old kitchen utensils, red/cream and green/cream.

And this wonderful xylonite brush case – look at the delicate latch, all in perfect condition.

There’s nothing like a bit of retail therapy, especially the vintage kind. Now I feel much more able to face the working week!

More flea market finds at Sophie’s!

Published in: on September 12, 2010 at 5:14 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/flea-market-finds-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OH WOWEEE, Liz i LOVE it ALL especially the cake tins, oh and that sweet little bunny planter. what FAB finds!!

  2. Loving that green – very gorgeous!

  3. i just LOOOVE the font on the green lidless cake tin…

    So good

  4. Lots of wonderful treasures! Yes vintage retail therapy beats any other kind I think!

  5. You are doing my head in. I just love your finds. I have one of those cake tins, but mine’s pinky/red. The green is gorgeous.

    Lucky, lucky, you.

  6. spearmint green – the best shade of all! would love to see this 5 acre garage sale, with a train carriage, wow!

  7. we had that red/cream slicer at home. i cut my fingers on it once. badly… for being too curious, i guess. but what a load you finds!!! can you store all of it? really? 🙂

  8. You clever clever spotter! Vegemite jars! I never knew.

  9. Oh well done on your vintage trail. Gorgeous finds. Hope you week is wonderful. xo

  10. Love your finds. I see you are a lover of green/turquoise. So too am I and I’m loving that rabbit. Have a great week.

  11. Fabulous!
    I too love vintage green
    Melissa

  12. Love your fantastic finds, they are so pleasing to the eye, everything 50s reminds me of ice cream which is a good thing. Hope you had lots of fun and sounds like a great spot!


Leave a Reply

