Flea Market Finds….

Hi and welcome to another fabulous week of flea market finds hosted by Sophie!

A fifteen minute drive from where I work takes me to my favourite secondhand furniture shop. I haven’t been there for a while so I decided to pop down there at lunchtime on Thursday. And I was so I glad I did! I think the owner had just bought out an old sewing machine repair shop. He literally had hundreds of sewing machines there. Most seemed to be quite old, you know, the old-fashioned 50s kind. There were green ones, yellow ones,  pink ones –  he hit the motherlode. There were so many they were stacked on top of each other about 8 high. Lots of overlockers too. But what caught my eye were the props:

A genuine Singer sewing machine sign!  And this:

A great display board for buttons that I can take to the vintage fairs I sell at (sorry – needs a good clean!)

And these:

a largish cotton display cabinet, and

two smaller ones.  Needless to say my car was a bit heavier on the trip back to work, and my purse a bit lighter.  The whole lot cost me only $40!!

Plus I nipped across the road to Vinnies and picked up a few more things:

That was a Jenny Kee plate in the front….was until I dropped it and it smashed into lots of pieces. I could have kicked myself for being so careless. I did keep the pieces. Anyone out there make mosaics??

Published in: on September 19, 2010 at 9:40 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/flea-market-finds-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well done, love the sign.
    I didnt know Jenny Kee did plates

  2. What a shame about the plate, the weetabix tin is great.

  3. Nice finds! Im glad I dont live anywhere near that secondhand shop, my partner would kill me if I bought home ANOTHER sewing machine!

  4. i LOVE old tin signs..great finds, Liz!

    btw i did a mosaic workshop a few years back..i hope to make a few pieces for the garden, one day 🙂

    • OK – I’ll have to remember to bring the pieces when I come down. I contacted the Vic Button Society president and I believe they are having a ‘field day’ in October – will contact you when I find out more – cheers!

  5. That isn’t a vintage teapot …. it is a “Billy” for boiling your water in over a fire and making your tea in when camping! My parents have one! Swing the billy!!

    • Oh well – if the tea cosy fits! I don’t have a campfire inside my house.


Leave a Reply

