Vintage Button Lovelies….(and Vintage Thingies Thursday)

I stumbled across these the other day…..

Gorgeous vintage buttons from the 1940s and 50s….

Look at those gorgeous colours and superb designs…..

even the cards are beautiful, with an embossed paving stone design…..

These transparent ones look like boiled lollies….

How could I resist?

I bought 80 cards…..

More pics next week…..

Pop over to Suzanne’s blog for more VTT fun….

Published in: on December 8, 2009 at 8:44 pm  Comments (28)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bowerbirdz.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/vintage-button-lovelies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful! Thanks for letting my eyes feast on these lovelies for a while. I love the ones with the playing card theme — despite being aqua! — and those pretty pink ones just underneath remind me a frosting on a cake. Thanks!

  2. if I had the money I wouldn’t have been able to resists buying those. gorgeous buttons 😀

  3. Wow!!! Those look brand new! I love the clear ones. I was luck enough to get a couple cards of clear ones at a garage sale lately. And I have a few other treasures also.

  4. Hello Mad Button Woman

    Look at your stash! Saw you again in the Antiques Warehouse in Sydney on the way to the airport a couple of weeks ago. Was finally able to explain to The Bloke your obsession.

    He was impressed!

  5. How do you manage to ‘stumble’ on a stash of buttons as beautiful as the ones you seem to stumble upon!!??
    I love the pink flower ones.

  6. You made a haul with all those bright, pretty buttons.

  7. Love the buttons, the colors and designs are so pretty.

  8. Wow! I can see why you couldn’t resist. They are adorable.

  9. OH-OH-OH what yummy-licious eye candy..good enough to eat!!

  10. Such fun buttons!

    Ah the memories of playing with my mother’s button tin as a child – – –

  11. OMG! I am so envious I love the colors and the different designs. Thanks for sharing!

    My Vintage Thingies

  12. What a great find. They look very artistic arranged together like that.

  13. Wow! I love vintage buttons. These are amazing. Beautiful colors and designs.

  14. WoW! You have quite a collection of buttons. And in like new mint condition. I always have a handful of old buttons laying around. I don’t know why I don’t collect more as they are so pretty!
    I went to an estate sale once where the lady had a 35,000 button collection. Boy was it packed with collectors. While I snuck off with a beautiful radio no one was paying any attention to. My lucky day!

  15. I am envious! So pretty.

  16. Wow!!!!! If I found this many vintage buttons, I would fall over in a faint. The buttons are just gorgeous.

  17. Where did you ever find these????? I sure would like to buy some! I would be just crazy!!!!! Buttons make me a little nuts! LOL I LOVE THESE!!!! Really, is there a palce to buy these, or did you get them all???? LOL

    • Hi Sandy,
      no I didn’t get them all. But they’re in England.

  18. Wow! What a stash! I like old buttones too. There were many in my grandmother’s things when we sorted them. The detailed work is amazing.

  19. What an amazing find!

  20. Wow, you are a collector! I love buttons too. I have 3-4 bottles of them sitting around. Of course nothing like your collection! Vintage buttons have such beautiful designs. When people sewed everything themselves, the buttons were really part of the designs.

  21. What a great find…I love these…very cute!! Have a great VTT!

  22. OMG I can hardly believe my eyes, how many cards?!What a haul!

  23. Wow, I LOVE the buttons!! Great collection.

    Jocelyn
    http://justalittlesouthernhospitality.blogspot.com/

  24. Your whole blog is lovely. I adore your buttons and your button-collecting tales. Gorgeous gorgeous. I am going to be following.Cant wait for more gorgeous pictures. Are you a Button Floozie too?

    • Hi Deborah,
      thanks for your lovely words. Yes I’m a button floozie. I post there on occasion, cheers
      Liz

  25. Holy goodness what an awesome collection.

  26. That is DIVINE button fun, looking at those colors and shapes is SO much fun. I think I am green with envy.

    Marie @ Lemondrop ViNtAge Happy Chinese New Year giveaway


Leave a comment